Saturday, August 22, 2009

the Comptroller of the Currency

The Comptroller of the Currency-also known as the Administrator of National Banks- is division of the United States treasury, established under the national banking act of 1863. The comptroller has the power to issue federal charters for the creation of national banks. These banks are subject to an impressive array of regulations, most of which pertain to the kinds of loans and investments that may be made and the amount and types of capital which each bank must hold. all national Banks are examined at least once each year by the comptroller‘s staff.
In chartering new national banks the comptroller reviews all charter applications for the adequacy of their capital, the earnings potential of the proposed bank, the character of its management, and the convenience and needs of the community to be served. Similar criteria are applied to applications from existing national banks to open new branch office, merge, or from holding companies.

No comments: